Platebutikken Tiger

Independent record store based in Oslo.
Ships internationally

— Opening Hours —
12 - 17

Hammersborggata 18, 0181 Oslo // +47 47 45 00 89

Display prices in:

Cart ( 0 NOK )

Your cart is empty

Lykke Til I Livet

Jansen Records Aug 31st 2018
99 NOK

The title of Virkelig’s debut album translates directly to ‘Good luck in life’. It’s either a laconic greeting to a person with an uncertain future, or it’s a melancholy and heartfelt good luck message. For the boys in Virkelig, the album title is probably more intended for the former, not the latter. The record was written during the last year that Tobias, Sondre and Erlend went to high school, and they all knew that their lives would change dramatically the next couple of years. They would be moving away from home, maybe away from Bodø - the town where they’ve been living all their life - and away from all things familiar.

Virkelig issued the single «Cecilie» in 2015, and after forcing it into various music streaming services, they all of a sudden had released their first song. Two weeks after the release, the song had been named «Ukas Urørt» and A-listed by the radio channel NRK P3. It stayed on the A-list for 38 weeks, and during the following summer, Virkelig played at festivals like Trondheim Calling, Slottsfjell, Pstereo, Parkenfestivalen, Trænafestivalen and Sommerfesten på Giske.

The seed had been sown, and after some writing and rehearsing they went into studios to make an album. Their thoughts about change, broken relations and what was waiting for them ahead, persuaded them to record it in other places than the familiar northern Norway, with people who didn’t speak their dialect - to get new impulses and start a whole new process. They love their hometown and its people, but they chose to the take the bull by the horns and throw themselves into the unknown.

They first entered the ARC studio in Oslo, with Erlend Mokkelbost (Montée, JR Ewing etc.), before they travelled to Ocean Sound Studio at Giske outside of Ålesund and recorded the rest. The album was mixed by Anders Bjelland at Broen Studio in Bergen. In November, Virkelig signed a recording contract with Jansen Records, and at the same time they agreed to let Timeout Agency do their booking.

The result is «Lykke til i livet». An album filled with big city anxiety, street pop with Norwegian lyrics - a record that shows a young rock band on their way up. A rock band that treads War on Drugs’ path, combining the simple with the grand. Who said that the guitar solo was dead anyway?

«Lykke til i livet» will be released by Jansen Records on August 31st.


1. Storbyangst

2. Evig ekko

3. Kom til mæ

4. Vi gikk oss vill i det som en gang va

5. Fall ut av bildet

6. Perrongen

7. Ballettdanseren

8. Æ og du

9. Frostrøyk